Benign (explained)

(Earlier posts are visible at: http://tastethefireforyourself.blogspot.com/)

So ‘benign’ doesn’t mean I don’t have cancer; it doesn’t mean I won’t be going to surgery on the 11th;  enduring chemotherapy & radiation & adjuvant therapy. What it means is I get to keep my breast, altered but still mine.

The malignant tumor has formed in an area of my breast where there is a large ‘chunky’ micro calcification… now, calcifications in breast tissue are normal age related changes, most women get them, and none of the micro calcifications in my breast show any sign of being ‘bad’ calcifications, no rod or branching morphology. However, since the micro calcification the cancer has formed around also looks ‘normal’, testing the other areas with micro calcifications for signs of cell dysplasia seemed to be a Good Idea.

IF the cells in the areas tested had shown signs of dysplasia, it would mean that I had other cancers starting in my breast, and a mastectomy would have been strongly advised. Because the findings from the biopsy all came back ‘normal’, I get to keep my breast.

Not only is this really important to me in terms of my self image and sexual response, it also should mean a much smoother and shorter recovery time.

To me, it’s a *huge* relief.

And, once I knew what was going on, I was able to tell my parents – hard, but I feel more comfortable being open, when everyone knows what’s going on.

So, hoopla! huzzah! I get to keep my breast!

This entry was posted in breast cancer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Benign (explained)

  1. Cheryl says:

    Very glad to hear your parents know. I’m certain it was horribly difficult. I can’t even put myself there. BUT, it’s out and now I won’t make a mistake and have my fingers broken. (Phew.)

  2. dropjohn says:

    It is a bit of a relief, having it out – no more hidden posts on facebook! – but I did want to wait until I found out exactly what was going to happen.

Leave a Reply

