Let Us Now Praise Cheap Consumer Goods

This is the second time in the past five months that I’ve had to abandon my base layer of basic black t-shirts for medical reasons – the first time after surgery, when I couldn’t put on anything that pulled on over my head, and now, when I don’t want anything touching my scorched breast and side. I probably have at least two dozen of these camisole type t-shirts, mostly black, and normally I wear one somewhere above 90% of my waking hours. They’re a perfect base layer for colder months, and a perfect top layer in warmer weather – and black goes with everything.

It’s been like this for over ten years – look, here I am in Armenia, being a happy little Peace Corps Volunteer:

 

 

 

 

And here I am last year, on the last leg of my return trip from Scotland:

Yes, I’m really that boring. Possibly more so.

Putting away the little black tops has been a serious blow to my timeless wardrobe.

Luckily enough, I live in America, where we’ve cheap consumer goods, the likes of which I challenge you to find anywhere else on this God’s good earth – along with a voracious consumer culture which leads to the Very Best thrift shop finds this side of the grave*. Church stores are the best for great stuff at great prices – an April Cornell beaded sweater for $4.00; a J Peterman linen dress for  $1.00;  a Sonoma cotton shirt for $2.00; and on it goes. L.L.Bean fleece jackets, Red Wing boots, silk shirts – if you’ve got the time, there are great deals to be had. Thanks to thrift shops, I now own a wide variety of wearable tops – nice ones, too! – to substitute out for my ubiquitous black t-shirts, and all for well under $50.

Sure, we don’t have universal health care  – but let’s look on the bright side, shall we?

And let us now praise cheap consumer goods.

 

 

* no, I don’t know that there are thrift shops in Heaven, or Valhalla, or Purgatory, or Hades – but I don’t know that there *aren’t*, either. And neither do you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let Us Now Praise Cheap Consumer Goods

  1. LOL me too! I am still bra free as the “girl” heals and I went on the hunt for comfortable but not gross during radiation – church fair sales, thrift shops, etc

  2. dropjohn says:

    Much as I love a good find – and I *do*, trust me – and as useful as thrift shops have been for me over the years, it’s also pretty apparent to me that we are paying the costs elsewhere. No such thing as a free lunch, y’know.

    On the whole, I’d rather have affordable health care. Most of us already have too much *stuff*.

Leave a Reply

