Test results

I’m –  according to test results – post menopausal.  Menopause on the express plan – start to finish, less than four months. My estradiol levels are at 20; my FSH (follicle stimulating hormones) are at 91.

I won’t be officially considered post menopausal until next July, but I’m pretty well certain the egg factory’s shut down for good. Aside from the continuing mini hot flashes (short, frequent, and irritating, but not overwhelming), it’s not so bad.

The low hormone levels also make me feel more confident about avoiding Tamoxifen… I’m sure my oncologist would still like me to take it but, as we all know by now, I don’t want to. I don’t want more damage to an already damaged system. I want to be done.

I haven’t made a hard and fast decision as of yet; that’s waiting on my return from Scotland. And huzzah for Scotland! I’m leaving a little later than I’d originally planned, what with the detour through Cancerland (worst amusement park ever), and I’ve missed all this year’s festivals, and it’ll be dark and cold, and I don’t care.

I’ve my suitcase packed with wellies and chocolates and all; I’ve cleaned the house; I’ve arranged for cat care; and as of Thursday – I’m outta here!

I’ll deal with the rest of it when I get back.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Test results

  1. james says:

    No deep-fried Snickers bars!

Leave a Reply

