three down, two to go

One more doctor down – an equally lovely doctor in her own way, Dr. Lorilee Schoenbeck, and equally unwilling to prescribe. She offered me the possibility of black cohosh and ayurvedic remedies*, soothing salves made from calendula and cocoa butter, glucosamine supplements for my increasing creakiness; she agreed that all my listed problems could be solved by hrt, and she wasn’t comfortable prescribing it.

For the record, black cohosh does *nothing* for me; it’s bloody useless. For the record, I understand hrt raises my risks of recurrence, though I’d be happy to have more detailed information, and I’m fully capable of making my own decisions around my health (assuming doctors trust me enough to fully inform me to start with – I can do my own research, but I know I’m limited).

In all honesty, had it been six months ago, or even three, I might have been more open to trying alternative medicines. I had more time then. Here and now, I’m close to the end of my tether, and I don’t have the patience, I don’t have the time. I’m not asking blindly; I’m not asking as a first resort. I started out with herbal and OTC remedies, they didn’t work. I added the lowest possible dose of localized estradiol, things kept getting worse.

This isn’t working for me. This isn’t a natural process, it’s utterly unnatural, and it is killing me.

Two more doctors to go.

*http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ayurveda

This entry was posted in breast cancer, cancer treatment, chemopause, recovery and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

